How we celebrated the Guild’s 30th anniversary in 2019


The Guild hosted an evening celebrating the Guild’s first 30 years, and looking forward to the next 30. Important voices from the Guild’s past introduced the Guild’s 30 Writers to Watch in 2019 and beyond. We saw old friends & made some new ones, while enjoying music, hors d’oeuvres, and an-end-of night raffle featuring unique artifacts from the Guild’s archives.


Congratulations to these amazing artists! Learn more about them HERE.
Click for full bios + photos.


Tara Betts, poetry, nonfiction, scholarship

Kimberly Dixon-Mays, poetry, plays

Raul Dorantes, poetry, plays, fiction

Emily Thornton Calvo, poetry, memoir

Michael Fischer, nonfiction

kwabena foli, poetry

Ricardo Gamboa, plays, television, scholarship

Jan-Henry Gray, poetry, storytelling

Ames Hawkins, nonfiction, scholarship

Tsehaye Geralyn H├ębert, plays, poetry, nonfiction

Timothy J. Hillegonds, nonfiction

Nate Marshall, poetry

John McCarthy, poetry

Patricia Ann McNair, fiction, nonfiction

Ciara Darnise Miller, poetry, scholarship

Faisal Mohyuddin, poetry

Cheswayo Mphanza, poetry

Nikki Patin, poetry, music

Frances de Pontes Peebles, fiction

Ruben Quesada, poetry, translation

Christine Rice, fiction, nonfiction

Jennifer Roche, poetry

Kenyatta Rogers, poetry

J. Howard Rosier, fiction, criticism

Natania Rosenfeld, poetry, fiction, nonfiction, scholarship

Mojdeh Stoakley, poetry, music

Rachel Swearingen, fiction

Naomi Washer, poetry, nonfiction, translation

Valerie Wallace, poetry

Jeremy T. Wilson, fiction